The State of the Union…One Anon’s Perspective


It saddens me that this scene from Network, is still the truest assessment of how things are I can find. I guess, this article is what you can call THE STATE OF THE UNION from One Anon’s Perspective. Today, I had to go get cat litter, and as I was driving, I saw an Hispanic family on the corner near the local Walmart, begging for money. The man I presume was the husband and father, appeared to be in his late 20s, and his wife a bit younger. They had three children, one was a baby, the other two, not that much older.

I have been talking to a lot of people lately, people around this country. This nation,  beyond the puffery and bullshit the two major parties are spewing forth, is in trouble.
Gasoline was one dollar eighty eight sense a gallon, and while we look at that and think “Wow, that’s cheap”….not that many years ago…such a price would be met with anger and indignation. This is called the “slow boiling of the frog” or…”incremental indoctrination of the people to accept a shitty existence”.

I won’t go into my Mom’s current existence save to say that we have several thousand pages of medical records that document they lied to us, and deliberately allowed her to get worse, and put her through more pain than I can imagine.

But, this STATE OF THE UNION is not really about just my Mom,  me, the price of gas, or even an Hispanic family begging for food in the hot Texas sun at the local Walmart.

We are screwed…and by “we”, I mean the majority of the American people, if not the majority of the middle and lower class of good people worldwide.

I have had the opportunity to speak with many people lately who have either personally been placed in the hospital, or who have very close loved ones in the hospital. What I have found is extremely disturbing. One thing is that in this, the 21st century, many people don’t have an extended family to rely on, don’t have friends or loved ones…many folks are facing things like serious illness alone. What I’ve also found is that once people get hospitalized…ESPECIALLY if they are placed on a ventilator, they take a serious turn for the worse….and MRSA, C Diff, and other opportunistic, nosocomially acquired infections are rampant…threatening to kill the poor folks in there for some other reason.

And, I have seen personally, and heard from many folks, that doctors in hospitals, seem not to care about the patients as people. It is hard to find any doctor who graduated from an American medical college in hospitals now, and as much as I hate to admit it, some of the doctors I have met, and some other folks have met, are prejudiced against Americans, especially Caucasian Americans. This phenomenon of filling hospitals with foreign doctors seems like it started with the onset of the 21st century, however, it may have begun before that. And, there really is no incentive to make sure patients get well…the doctor gets paid whether you survive or die….the pharmaceutical companies get paid whether you survive or die.

But, although I could spend an entire year discussing the medical issues alone (and don’t forget that medical errors are the third leading cause of deaths in the USA), I don’t want to spend this whole article on that.

Small businesses are dying…going under. And, if you want to link this with the healthcare issues, many if not most of the doctors who in the past, would have a single provider, private practice, have had to give up and either go in with a group, or become an employee of a hospital or insurance company. The days of the town doc who knew everyone, will soon be only a quaint memory.

People with small businesses are going under every day. I’m not going to take the easy way out and say that Walmart, that many headed hydra is killing off all the Mom and Pop stores…which, although true, is far too simplistic.

The government goes out of its way to benefit large corporations, but goes out of its way to kill off the Mom and Pop, small businesses nationwide.

The people I have talked with, from California to New York, from Florida to Ohio, are hurting in every way possible. They are hurting financially, hurting emotionally, hurting physically, and our country just goes merrily along as if everything is fine. Well, it’s not fine. And, when the poor 99 percent is no longer able to buy fast food, buy crap at Walmart, pay for the overpriced medications, pay their hospital bills, or even buy gas to go look for a job, what the hell is this country going to do ?

Luckily, since I am not a candidate, I don’t have to play like I have the solution to everything because I don’t. But, I do know that whatever policies have gotten us to where we are at, are not only not working, but are deadly to this economy and to our people.

I’m not running for office, but I deeply care about my Brothers and Sisters across this country….I care about the animals, about the kids who are going hungry, being abused. I get more DMs than you can imagine…from honest, good, “salt of the Earth” folks, the kind of people who are what this country is supposed to be about, who are desperate. They see what is happening just as I do, and they feel powerless to stop this headlong trip toward the cliff.

In 2008, there was a “financial meltdown”, and in large part, it was caused by the big banks, using financial derivatives like Credit Default Swaps…so, we the poor folks had to bail their drunken, gambling asses out…but did we outlaw the practices that got us there? No…banks are still engaging in the same practices that caused Bush to give his “Sky is Falling, Chicken Little Speech”….after his administration had told us the economy was just great for several months.

And, this article is not meant to be a bully pulpit to advocate that you vote for someone , but, from listening to Bush, Clinton, Trump, et al, the only one “speaking my language” is Bernie Sanders. By nature, I am suspicious of ALL politicians, and I certainly don’t believe Sanders is a Saint, but he seems to be the only one who is even addressing the very serious problems we have…problems that will not go away if we don’t radically change many parts of how this country functions.

I’m not saying that I expect every American to live like kings or queens in opulence, but I AM saying that damn it, we deserve a decent living, affordable housing, affordable health care and medicine. For those I know, the “Affordable Healthcare Act” was a joke in that it was anything but affordable. The halfway measure of letting insurance companies screw us, and force us to buy their overpriced plans, and if we are too poor to buy them, to punish us with a fine, is madness. We needed Medicare for All or a Single Payer, but what we got was a birthday present for Big Pharma and Big Insurance.

Where did the “Change we can believe in” go? Medical marijuana is still illegal nationally. Millions are unemployed or underemployed, housing is getting so expensive that it is out of reach for more all the time.

Look, it doesn’t take a genius to figure that if you keep electing rich people, they will keep doing favors for their rich donors, and us poor folks will continue getting abused.

Remember when colonists revolted because of “taxation without representation”?
Look who allegedly “represents” us. In 2014, for the first time, most congress people are worth more than a million dollars. http://www.opensecrets.org/news/2014/01/millionaires-club-for-first-time-most-lawmakers-are-worth-1-million-plus/ “Of 534 current members of Congress, at least 268 had an average net worth of $1 million or more in 2012, according to disclosures filed last year by all members of Congress and candidates. The median net worth for the 530 current lawmakers who were in Congress as of the May filing deadline was $1,008,767 — an increase from the previous year when it was $966,000.”

So, given that, who do these people “represent” ? They damn sure aren’t our peers. They damn sure don’t represent me…so we ARE being taxed without being represented by people with our best interests at heart.

This country is sitting atop a powderkeg. Police are abusing, killing us, without being punished. Bankers, Big Pharma, Big Medicine are screwing us over and in some cases killing us, without being punished. I speak with people who are angry.These are the kind of folks who fought World War II…the salt of the earth, honest, good people…and the ONLY question is…where is the flash point at which this country erupts into violence.

Or, is it possible we have lost hope to the degree we will just lay down and continue taking our new position as door mat for the rich.

This is not just about Twitter slogans or Facebook posts…we are talking about people’s lives…the most serious topic I can think of, and the multimillionaires on the campaign trail think everything is just so damn funny. It’s NOT funny….its a crime, and its a tragedy.

You see, I’m an old guy. I grew up in the 1950s…I remember that things were not always as horrible as they are now…which MEANS, they don’t HAVE to be that way NOW. But, the only thing that needs to happen for evil to triumph is for good men and women to do nothing.

So, that’s my “State of the Union”…we’re fuxed, and we better start making changes soon.

Thanks for reading this.

`Anon99

Leave a Reply

