Time to take up arms, and by opposing, thus end them

One of my fave quotes from Shakespeare is one that cuts to the heart of existence as a human :
“To be, or not to be, that is the question: Whether ’tis Nobler in the mind to suffer the Slings and Arrows of outrageous Fortune, Or to take Arms against a Sea of troubles, And by opposing end them: to die, to sleep.”
Oddly, that sentiment is echoed in the opening sequence from NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN :
” There was this boy I sent to the ‘lectric chair at Huntsville Hill here a while back. My arrest and my testimony. He killt a fourteen-year-old girl. Papers said it was a crime of passion but he told me there wasn’t any passion to it. Told me that he’d been planning to kill somebody for about as long as he could remember. Said that if they turned him out he’d do it again. Said he knew he was going to hell. “Be there in about fifteen minutes”. I don’t know what to make of that. I sure don’t. The crime you see now, it’s hard to even take its measure. It’s not that I’m afraid of it. I always knew you had to be willing to die to even do this job. But, I don’t want to push my chips forward and go out and meet something I don’t understand. A man would have to put his soul at hazard. He’d have to say, “O.K., I’ll be part of this world.”

Both passages express, to me, the same idea…that there is evil in this world, there are evil people, and, at some point, if you give a shit, you have to decide that YOU have a place in protecting the innocents, but that decision comes at a price…you have to become “part of this world”…and take  up arms (weapons in general) and often, just by opposing them, you can defeat them.

For whatever reason, my whole life , people have felt comfortable with, and had enough trust in me, to confide in me something that, they wouldn’t tell others.

While this is ego inflating, that people trust and respect you enough to have that kind of confidence in you to keep their secrets secret, it is also a burden, because often, you hear things, injustices, that a caring person wants to act on, but often, the injury or abuse happened so long ago, there is no one to go after.

Cut to the present, due to my ordeal with my recently deceased Mother, I have been made aware of how other folks, usually elderly, are being treated “doctors” in major hospitals. I have, via a network of people I know who work in various institutions, found out that increasingly, there is developing, a perhaps “unwritten” SOP (stand operating procedure) that when an elderly person (often female) comes into the ER, the ER doc IMMEDIATELY gives the order to take them off ALL the meds they are on…and if they have pneumonia (as with my Mom) to discontinue all breathing treatments.

Now, I know that my followers come from many and varied backgrounds, some are truckdrivers, some are lawyers, some are doctors, some are IT people…but, it doesn’t have to take a great deal of acumen or training in Medicine to know that if you take a person in the 7th, 8th, or 9th decade of life, and cold turkey their meds…some meds they have been on for decades, something bad is going to happy to them.

The doctor who did that to my Mom…I confronted doctors one on one and asked five that way, WHY did that doctor do that. NOT ONE offered an answer. Then, I and my wife (and a friend or in one case, my son) went into a “medical ambush” with 15-20 doctors sitting all smug in their white coats, and asked them en mass why was this done? Asked in a group…and these were oncologists, internal medicine doctors, and other subspecialties, NONE of THEM could answer it…except that one said something crazy like “well, he’s just the doctor there at night” (I’m still working on that because they said it like he was just a janitor). I looked up that doctor’s info, found on the internet he has ONE STAR (the lowest rating possible) and he’s had his license since 1978.

And, at the time, I have found other cases where doctors (using that term loosely now) did the same thing to other seniors. Now, since THEY had no answer, there are answers we can speculate on. Firstly, some medicines which patient take, can have a VERY bad outcome if you just suddenly cold turkey them (i.e. not titrate the dose down). So, doctors, if they are worth their salt with regard to understanding pharmacology, know if you have someone on 10 medications, and that person is 89, and has pneumonia, should KNOW that if you remove those meds and discontinue breathing treatments, you may in fact kill them. This is NOT hyperbole or rhetoric. Many years ago, I had a female friend on Lithium for bipolar disorder (it was manic-depressive label back then) and both the doctor and the package inserts STRESSED that she never just stop taking the Lithium because it is dangerous to do so.

Jump forward to the 21st century, now you have “Doctors” discontinuing ALL meds on someone who has just been admitted via the ER…without regard to what those drugs are…does this sound like good, prevailing, State of the Art , “Best Practices” stuff to you?

One elderly lady that my wife knows, had to go to the ER, I don’t recall why, but it may have been pneumona. She went in fairly recently. She was taken to the OTHER “big hospital) (Most towns of any size have a couple of large hospitals). The ER doctor took HER off all her meds (this was not that long ago)… end result, my wife attended her funeral yesterday. I personally know the battle that I had withe EVERY doctor when they found I had Mom on “full code” (as opposed to DNR) status. The first doctor threatened to break my ribs….I told him “If that would heal my Mom, bring it on buddy”…and this was occurring in the ER, he on one side of Mom’s gurney, me on the opposite side with Mom in between. It was not until the last day, when it appeared my Mom’s kidney had shut down (she only had one due to a previous operation), and things looked like there was only one outcome, pursuant to the advice of my wife, cousin, her husband….that I signed the “Allow to die a natural death” box. Mom’s died just a few hours after that.

A doctor working for the same facility that woman was at, had an ER doc do the same to one of his patients, i.e. discontinue all their meds immediately. The doctor who had been treating that patient called the hospital, enraged when he heard what had been done, and demanding to know why the ER doc had discontinued all the meds he had her on. The ER doctor told him she didn’t need to be on those meds so he discontinued them. The treating doctor told him he DID NOT PUT PATIENTS ON MEDS THEY DIDN”T NEED, and that there was a good, clinical reason for each medication she was taking. The ER doctor, in his haughty arrogance, did not put her back on the meds, and she died not long afterward.

For privacy reasons, I won’t go into the horrible things that happened to Mom at the first hospital, but when she arrived at the second hospital, the evaluating doctor took pictures of her and called me, saying this is how she was when we received her (a cover your ass move as always).

I do not consider myself particularly a “conspiratorial” person, but, that said, within the perhaps 50 thousand pages of clinical records I have on CDs and DVDs. there is evidence they did what they could to kill Mom, without a bullet to the head or slash across the throat AND this involved more than just a couple of people..RICO gets involved in just such cases.

Everyone who knows about the nature of modern hospitals, will tell you that if your loved one is admitted, YOU or someone in your stead, NEEDS to be there as an advocate for that patience, in essence, to protect them.

To be brutally honest, when someone in their 70s and older comes in a hospital, many doctors (much more so than nurses in general) have this opinion “They’ve lived a long, full life, time to let them go peacefully”. This reminds me of the scene with Edward G Robinson on SOYLET GREEN. Those who have scene the movie  recall the portion called “Sol’s Euthanasia”, but if you don’t , here it is.

At LEAST, this option allows the person to go out with some dignity, instead of them lying there in a living hell with tubes down their throats, with stage 4 decubitus ulcers that go to the bone…which is what was happening to my Mom in “Hospital One”. I personally fought like hell to force these bastards to let me transfer Mom to a different hospital. They said no one would take her…but, near the end, I found out they had lied to me and we had one transfer Mom to the second one, one which had a fully outfitted ambulance with ventilator and everything.

Before Mom died, as the nurses came into clear her up, I saw what her back looked like…I am not squeamish at all…
but I must tell you, that image is burned into my brain…it was the WORST lesion I’ve seen on a person in real person….
if you’ve seen the results of galloping gangrene, aka necrotizing fasciitis, you kind of understand the level of tissue destruction, but it was worse than that, and I’ve seen necrotizing fasciitis up close and person on a person.

I laughed when the Republicans warned of “death panels”, but the real world is millions of times worse than that.

What it appears to me, given all the information I have at this point, is there is an going procedure to try to end the lives of elderly patients in hospitals. Part of it may be related to not wanting to expend money on elderly folks. There are complexities to the whole issue. There is something called the DRG https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diagnosis-related_group, the “Diagnosis Related Groupers”. Although it gets complicated, the bottom line is that the hospital may have to pay for medicines related to the primary diagnosis.

The bottom line is when doctors see elderly people as “useless eaters” (despite their smiles and soothing words to relatives) they are sliding into the same ground that medical doctors during the Third Reich did….that the elderly were life unworthy of life. And, whether it is psychological or purely based on economic metrics, it is evil, and the bottom line is barring fatal accidents, if we live long enough, we too will become targets of the killing machine or as I call it
“gerontocidal” thinking….that old people deserve to die…that we should transfer our resources to young people.

This is monstrously evil thinking in my opinion.

I am going to try to do more research to see how widespread this issue is. Remember that 80% of us die in hospitals or hospital type nursing facilities (63% die in hospitals, 17% die in skilled nursing homes).

If you have a loved one who is up there in age (Or in some cases, a young person, 29 for example) and is sent to the hospital, remember they are now in the belly of a beast whose metrics are not slanted toward keeping old folks alive as long as possible.

As LONG as we do nothing, evil triumphs. You will notice if you go to any large hospital, the majority of doctors there no long graduated from USA medical schools, and if you ask them where they went to medical school , they will often get defensive and ask you why you are asking. In the past, MDs were proud of where they went to med school and had not problems telling you where. It makes you wonder where all this is headed.

Thanks for reading this.

`Anon99

Leave a Reply

